The Ontario Newspaper Awards celebrate excellence in journalism among newspapers outside of Toronto.

An annual gala ceremony brings together journalists, photographers, managing editors, publishers and sponsors to present the awards.

The 2020 competition is open to the following member newspapers:

Belleville Intelligencer

Brantford Expositor

Brockville Recorder and Times

Chatham Daily News

Cornwall Standard-Freeholder

Hamilton Spectator

Kingston Whig-Standard

The Record (Waterloo Region)

London Free Press

Niagara Falls Review

North Bay Nugget

Ottawa Sun

Peterborough Examiner

Owen Sound Sun Times

St. Catharines Standard

St. Thomas Times-Journal

Sarnia Observer

Sault Star

Simcoe Reformer

Stratford Beacon-Herald

Sudbury Star

Thunder Bay Chronicle-Journal

Timmins Daily Press

Welland Tribune

Windsor Star

Woodstock Sentinel-Review.